Team Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
Base Brackley, UK
Power Unit Mercedes
Car F1 W08 EQ Power+



Under threat in 2017?

Five years after returning to Formula One, Mercedes etched their name into the sport's history once more with a dominant performance that saw the Brackley-based team win both the drivers' and constructors' title for a third successive year.

In 2016, Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, contested their fourth and what turned out to be their final season together as a partnership and set a new record for most wins by one team in a single season, with 19 wins from 21 races. For the majority of a third successive season, no other team came close.

Such was their dominance that Mercedes again clinched the constructors' title with four rounds to go, but this time it was Rosberg who won the drivers' championship. It all came down to the final race but the German driver held on to take the title under extreme pressure from Hamilton.

The recent success Mercedes has enjoyed followed a host of organisational changes with former team principal Ross Brawn handing over the reins at the end of 2013, with CEO Toto Wolff and former McLaren technical director Paddy Lowe taking over. For 2017, Wolff is in sole control of the team after Lowe left and joined Williams.

Mercedes had been an engine supplier to McLaren since 1995 and more recently, Force India and Williams. However, before that, the "Silver Arrow" cars had been absent from the track since a tragic racing accident in the Le Mans 24-Hour race in 1955. Prior to that incident Mercedes had dominated grand prix racing in the late 1930s and again in 1954 and 1955.

When Mercedes returned to Formula One in 2010, it coincided with the return of seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher to the track. However, the German struggled to return his former glory, as his compatriot and teammate Rosberg impressed.

It was the latter who sealed the team's first win since returning to the sport with victory in China in 2012 and when Schumacher retired at the end of that season, the team replaced him with 2008 world champion Hamilton.

The Mercedes F1 W04 proved fast in 2013 but hard on tyres and as the season wore on, the team's challenge to pacesetters Red Bull faded. The team finished second overall, providing a launch pad to the stunning seasons in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

But F1's new rules for 2017 have given the opposition the chance to close the gap to Mercedes – is its supremacy finally under threat?